THE SOCIAL NETWORK tops DFW Film Critics Picks

©2010, Sony Pictures Entertainment.

Andrew Garfield, left, and Jesse Eisenberg stars as Mark Zuckerberg in Columbia Pictures' THE SOCIAL NETWORK. PHOTO BY: Merrick Morton

The Dallas-Ft. Worth Film Critics Association, of which I must disclose I am a voting member, announced the results of its 17th annual awards today.

The Association’s selection for Best Picture is THE SOCIAL NETWORK, for which director David Fincher also won Best Director. Rounding out the Top Ten: THE KING’S SPEECH, BLACK SWAN, 127 HOURS, WINTER’S BONE, INCEPTION, THE FIGHTER, TRUE GRIT, THE TOWN and THE KIDS ARE ALL RIGHT.

In the Best Actor category, James Franco was recognized for his performance as Aron Ralston in Danny Boyle’s 127 Hours, followed by runners-up, Colin Firth (The King’s Speech), Jesse Eisenberg (The Social Network), Robert Duvall (Get Low) and Michael Douglas (Solitary Man).

In the Best Actress category, Natalie Portman won for her role as Nina Sayers in Darren Aronofsky’s Black Swan. Ms. Portman is followed by Jennifer Lawrence (Winter’s Bone), Nicole Kidman (Rabbit Hole), Annette Bening (The Kids Are All Right) and Michele Williams (Blue Valentine).

For Best Supporting Actor, we awarded Christian Bale for his role as boxing legend Dicky Eklund in The Fighter. Runners-up included Geoffrey Rush (The King’s Speech), Jeremy Renner (The Town), Bill Murray (Get Low) and Chris Cooper (The Company Men).

Melissa Leo took Best Supporting Actress for her part as the hard knocks mother of WBU Welterweight boxers Mark Ward and Dicky Eklund, Alice Ward in The Fighter. She is followed by Jacki Weaver (Animal Kingdom), Helena Bonham Carter (The King’s Speech), Hailee Steinfeld (True Grit) and Mila Kunis (Black Swan).

David Fincher’s Best Director win is followed by Danny Boyle for 127 Hours, Darren Aronofsky (Black Swan), Christopher Nolan (Inception) and Tom Hooper (The King’s Speech).

BIUTIFUL was awarded Best Foreign Language Film over THE GIRL WITH THE DRAGON TATTOO, MOTHER, LEBANON and I AM LOVE.


In the Best Animated Film category, TOY STORY 3 beat HOW TO TRAIN YOUR DRAGON.

Screenwriter Aaron Sorkin was recognized for THE SOCIAL NETWORK, over Christopher Nolan’s INCEPTION.

Enrique Chediak and Anthony Dod Mantle won Best Cinematography for their work on 127 HOURS, followed by Roger Deakins (True Grit) tied with Wally Pfister (Inception).

The association voted WINTER’S BONE as the winner of the Russell Smith Award, named for the late Dallas Morning News film critic. The honor is given annually to the best low-budget or cutting-edge independent film.

The Dallas-Fort Worth Film Critics Association consists of 28 broadcast, print and online journalists from throughout North Texas. For more information, visit