LAFCA & BSFC 2010 Awards Announced

©2010, Sony Pictures Entertainment

Justin Timberlake, left, and Jesse Eisenberg in Columbia Pictures' THE SOCIAL NETWORK. PHOTO BY: Merrick Morton

Both the Boston Society of Film Critics and the Los Angeles Film Critics Association recognized David Fincher’s THE SOCIAL NETWORK for Best Picture, Best Director and Best Screenplay (Aaron Sorkin).

LAFCA: Best Actor was awarded to Colin Firth for THE KING’S SPEECH, and Best Actress to Kim Hye-Ja for MOTHER. Best Supporting Actor/Actress went to Niels Arestrup and Jacki Weaver for A PROPHET and ANIMAL KINGDOM, respectively.

BFCA: Actor to Jesse Eisenberg (THE SOCIAL NETWORK), actress to Natalie Portman (BLACK SWAN). Supporting to Christian Bale (THE FIGHTER) and Juliette Lewis (CONVICTION).

LAFCA: Best Cinematography was awarded to Matthew Libatique for BLACK SWAN, Best Production Design to Guy Hendrix-dyas for INCEPTION.

BSFC: Roger Deakins for TRUE GRIT.

Both the LAFCA and BSFC recognized Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross for THE SOCIAL NETWORK, while Los Angeles also tied Alexandre Desplat for THE GHOST WRITER.

Best Foreign Language Film was awarded by the LAFCA to Olivier Assayas for CARLOS. BSFC selected Joon-Ho Bong’s MOTHER.

LAST TRAIN HOME by Lixin Fan received the Los Angeles Film Critics’ award for Best Documentary. Boston broke with Los Angeles, selecting MARWENCOL, directed by Jeff Malmberg.

Jean-Luc Godard’s FILM SOCIALISME received special recognition with the LAFCA Douglas Edwards Experimental/Independent Film/Video award.

The full list of 2010 LAFCA Award winners can be read here. For the full list of this year’s BSFC Award winners, click here.

The Dallas-Ft. Worth Film Critics Association will announce its list of 2010 winners this Friday, December 17. The Chicago Film Critics Association will announce their nominees Friday, and the winners on Monday, December 20.