NBR Selects THE SOCIAL NETWORK for Best Picture

©2010, Columbia Pictures.

Jesse Eisenberg stars in Columbia Pictures' THE SOCIAL NETWORK. Photo: Merrick Morton

Opening the 2010 motion picture awards season, the National Board of Review has named David Fincher’s The Social Network Best Picture for 2010. Formed in 1909 to protest the revocation of motion picture exhibition licenses by New York Mayor George McClennan on grounds of immorality, it represented some of the oldest-existing independent distributors including Loews, Pathe and Gaumont.

The NBR has since gone on on to protest censorship, support film commentary, analysis and foster arts education. The 101-year old organization belongs to a small circle of organizations including the National Society of Film Critics and Fédération Internationale de la Presse Cinématographique (International Federation of Film Critics) which represent the interests of domestic and international film appreciation, commentary, recognition and preservation.

The 2010 gala is to be held at Cipriani’s 42nd Street in New York City on January 11, 2011, hosted by Meredith Viera. The full list of 2010 winners is as follows:

Best Film: The Social Network
Best Director: David Fincher, The Social Network
Best Actor: Jesse Eisenberg, The Social Network
Best Actress: Lesley Manville, Another Year
Best Supporting Actor: Christian Bale, The Fighter
Best Supporting Actress: Jacki Weaver, Animal Kingdom
Best Foreign Language Film: Of Gods and Men
Best Documentary: Waiting for “Superman”
Best Animated Feature: Toy Story 3
Best Ensemble Cast: The Town
Breakthrough Performance: Jennifer Lawrence, Winter’s Bone

Best Directorial Debut: Sebastian Junger and Tim Hetherington, Restrepo

Spotlight Award: Sylvain Chomet and Jacques Tati, The Illusionist

Best Original Screenplay: Chris Sparling, Buried
Best Adapted Screenplay: Aaron Sorkin, The Social Network

Special Filmmaking Achievement Award: Sofia Coppola for writing, directing, and producing Somewhere
William K. Everson Film History Award: Leonard Maltin
NBR Freedom of Expression: Fair Game, Conviction, Howl
Production Design Award: Dante Ferretti, Shutter Island

Ten Best Films
(in alphabetical order)

Another Year
The Fighter
The King’s Speech
Shutter Island
The Town
Toy Story 3
True Grit
Winter’s Bone

Five Best Foreign-Language Films
(in alphabetical order)

I Am Love
Life, Above All
Soul Kitchen
White Material

Five Best Documentaries
(in alphabetical order)

A Film Unfinished
Inside Job
Joan Rivers: A Piece of Work
The Tillman Story

Top Ten Independent Films
(in alphabetical order)

Animal Kingdom
Fish Tank
The Ghost Writer
Let Me In
Please Give
Youth in Revolt